• In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 60 minutes)
    Most users ever online was 871 on Fri Apr 19, 2024 12:00 am

Writer asking for some help

The perfect space for valuable discussions that may not neatly fit within the other forums.
Forum rules
Do not promote books in this forum. Instead, promote your books in either Authors: Tell us about your FICTION book! or Authors: Tell us about your NON-FICTION book!.

All other Community Rules apply in this and all other forums.
rawr912
Official Newbie!

Writer asking for some help

Unread post

Hi everyone,

I'm a relatively new author and would love to swap thoughts and opinions on what makes a compelling read. Obviously, some of my motivation is market research, but if I don't ask people who are interested in books who can I ask! With this in mind, what do you think attracts a potential reader? Would it be the front cover (you can find mine at the link below) or is it more likely to be on the strength of the synopsis? Just how important is the cover art and what really determines our decision to invest the time to actually sit down and read a book? As a new author, I feel these questions are very important, so any insights you can give will be greatly appreciated. It may help me not to make the same mistakes if I ever get around to writing another one!

For anyone interested you can read more about my book 'The Magic Lands' here:

http://www.freewebs.com/markhockley/

I accidentally screwed up this thread in an effort to fix another problem we've been having on our forums. But no posts were lost.

Well the first thing i look at is the cover, and your cover looks alright but the wolf looks kind......messed up sorry.
MarkH
Getting Comfortable

Unread post

Thanks for taking a look at it. Ironically, that's a very good description of the character of the Wolf. He's definitely messed up!! But I take your point. I have some issues with the cover myself.