• In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 60 minutes)
    Most users ever online was 616 on Thu Jan 18, 2024 7:47 pm

Thurkon/Jim's Introduction

The perfect space for valuable discussions that may not neatly fit within the other forums.
Forum rules
Do not promote books in this forum. Instead, promote your books in either Authors: Tell us about your FICTION book! or Authors: Tell us about your NON-FICTION book!.

All other Community Rules apply in this and all other forums.
Thurkon17

Thurkon/Jim's Introduction

Unread post

Hi everyone.My name is Jim and I am a videographer and video editor in Washington D.C. Currently I shoot and edit government video for a local contract here, but my dream is to work for National Geographic or the Discovery Channel someday...both of which are local here.I am 31 years old and I live in Silver Spring, Maryland...just outside the city. My wife is seven months pregnant and I am excited about having my first child in October. Hiking, camping, reading, playing video games, and debating...these are my loves. I don't know what else I can say about myself. Well, one thing...my life at the moment is in a strange limbo between life and death. On one hand, my wife is pregnant and we will have our first child soon...on the other, my mother is dying of cancer. She is stage four and weighs about 80 pounds.A few of you know me as one of the godless heathens from the message boards, and I am proud to say I still frequent those wastelands on occasion to stir up a debate or two. However, I am really looking forward to participating in this book club. I have to admit, being an English Literature major in college, that my main interest is in poetry and fiction...Kerouac, T.S. Eliot, Chuck Palahniuk, William Carlos Williams, and Buddhist koans. I also enjoy fantasy and science fiction...Robert E. Howard, Moorcock, Frank Herbert, Asimov, etc. So, this will be exploring new ground for me