Online reading group and book discussion forum
  HOME ENTER FORUMS OUR BOOKS LINKS DONATE ADVERTISE CONTACT  
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Dec 08, 2019 7:00 am

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] • Topic evaluate: Evaluations: 0, 0.00 on the average.Evaluations: 0, 0.00 on the average.Evaluations: 0, 0.00 on the average.Evaluations: 0, 0.00 on the average.Evaluations: 0, 0.00 on the average. 
Can you be an artist and a writer, as well? 
Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
Creative Writing Student

Post Can you be an artist and a writer, as well?
I am an artist, and am able at it. I would also like to write (not so able at that, but willing). Is there anyone who combines writing and art? If so how do you do it? How should I start? Suggestions?

Thu Jan 21, 2010 4:28 am
Profile Email
Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
Tenured Professor

Post Re: Can you be an artist and a writer, as well?
I am an artist and i am putting the finishing touches on a 700-800 page book.

I don't necessarily think there is a huge correlation between creating visual art and writing, other than perhaps the increased ability to visualize your characters, or settings, and give more specific descriptions of things.

Even having a great analytical eye for detail may not help you without a voice and vocabulary to express what it is you can see.