Online reading group and book discussion forum
  HOME ENTER FORUMS OUR BOOKS LINKS DONATE ADVERTISE CONTACT  
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Dec 15, 2019 9:14 am

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] • Topic evaluate: Evaluations: 0, 0.00 on the average.Evaluations: 0, 0.00 on the average.Evaluations: 0, 0.00 on the average.Evaluations: 0, 0.00 on the average.Evaluations: 0, 0.00 on the average. 
Let me try this again - introduction 
Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
Getting Comfortable

Post Let me try this again - introduction
I think I just proved I'm a newbie by posting in someone else's thread. I'll remove it there if I can and put it here.

Hi, I don't have a problem making up characters, describing them, giving them idiosyncrasies, and whole histories, but I get tongue-tied (finger-tied?) when I have to write about myself. I was born in Houston at the beginning of WWII. I remember some of it. My brother and I did our patriotic duty by drawing Hitler on our toilet paper before we used it. I still have the first fiction I ever wrote when I was six. It's the story of a boy who finds an injured prairie dog and nurses it back to health. Apparently, I believed in surprise endings because, at the end, he throws it back into the ocean and it swims away to live happily ever after. Either that or I had a short attention span.
I became a serious writer in junior high, mainly because I had a crush on Miss Snow, the journalism teacher. I wrote for school newspapers through high school and college, then wrote for the Stars and Stripes in the Army.
After that, I became a sort of gypsy writer, taking any job that paid. If they asked whether I knew about the assignment they had, I always said, "Oh, sure," then dashed to the library to read up on whatever it was. Some of the better-known publications were Sports Illustrated, Billboard, and the Houston Chronicle.