• In total there are 51 users online :: 1 registered, 0 hidden and 50 guests (based on users active over the past 60 minutes)
    Most users ever online was 871 on Fri Apr 19, 2024 12:00 am

Has the Democrat Party lost its empathy towards others?

A forum dedicated to friendly and civil conversations about domestic and global politics, history, and present-day events.
Forum rules
Do not promote books in this forum. Instead, promote your books in either Authors: Tell us about your FICTION book! or Authors: Tell us about your NON-FICTION book!.

All other Community Rules apply in this and all other forums.
Brooks127
Senior
United States of America

Has the Democrat Party lost its empathy towards others?

Unread post

Whether it is moral or immoral, a consequence of the Affordable Care Act is that some people have and will have their hours reduced.

It happened to me.

I am an adjunct instructor at a community college who was hanging in there for full-time. I am not retired, nor did I work another job on the side. I graduated with my masters, worked in the private sector for a few years, and left the private sector to teach, which in doing so I carried a full course load and earned barely enough to live on and afford insurance. It was a sacrifice. Now I am reconsidering my options going forward.

With that noted, I tend to vote libertarian, but I also vote for who I think will do the best job.

On several news programs this question about hours being reduced has come up. I have noticed that Republicans enjoy making the argument that the Affordable Care Act is reducing employee hours while Democrats make the argument there is no proof or little proof to show it is.

What is disturbing to me is that I have heard Democrats, who acknowledge the possibility that employee hours might be being reduced, say on these news programs, “It is only affecting a few people.”

Only a few?

Is this the same Democrat Party that pushed for Civil Rights? Where is the empathy?