• In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 60 minutes)
    Most users ever online was 616 on Thu Jan 18, 2024 7:47 pm

new in booktalk - rosecoutre

The perfect space for valuable discussions that may not neatly fit within the other forums.
Forum rules
Do not promote books in this forum. Instead, promote your books in either Authors: Tell us about your FICTION book! or Authors: Tell us about your NON-FICTION book!.

All other Community Rules apply in this and all other forums.
rosecoutre

new in booktalk - rosecoutre

Unread post

I saw this link at the member links at mensa.org and clicked without knowing it was a book/discussion/thinking website. Nice surprise. I have collected and given away thousands of books, endlessly cycling. I have an M.A. in literature and read novels, biographies, history, philosophy, creative-nonfiction, magazines, and newspapers (and editorial manuals since I'm an editor). I wrote a novel and a philosophy-of-language book on abstract objects. Those are my two main loves. My career is Web Editor for a lot of websites over the years (started as a regular print editor). I see that Chris O'Connor is in Clearwater, FL. I grew up in Clearwater -- lived there from 1962 to 1980. Edited by: rosecoutre at: 8/25/05 5:19 pm
rosecoutre

Re: new in booktalk

Unread post

I am replying to myself, message boards are so convenient for rambling. I have read most of Henry James' novels, stories, etc. I like most 1800s and 1900s British, French, and American novelists. I also read 1900s philosophy of language, like Wittgenstein, Tarski, Stalnaker, Kripke, Hintikka, etc. I haven't read a novel in a couple of years so I may need some direction and encouragement (and spare time!).
rosecoutre

Unread post