• In total there are 37 users online :: 1 registered, 0 hidden and 36 guests (based on users active over the past 60 minutes)
    Most users ever online was 789 on Tue Mar 19, 2024 5:08 am

Massimo Pigliucci

The perfect space for valuable discussions that may not neatly fit within the other forums.
Forum rules
Do not promote books in this forum. Instead, promote your books in either Authors: Tell us about your FICTION book! or Authors: Tell us about your NON-FICTION book!.

All other Community Rules apply in this and all other forums.
pigliucci

Massimo Pigliucci

Unread post

Hi there!My name is Massimo Pigliucci. I am an Associate Professor at the University of Tennessee in Knoxville, where I teache ecology and evolutionary biology. My research is on the evolution of genotype-environment interactions, i.e. on nature-nurture problems.A bit about my academic background (you never know, someody might be curious ): I received my Doctorate in Genetics at the University of Ferrara in Italy and my PhD in Botany from the University of Connecticut. I am currently finishing a PhD in Philosophy of Science at the University of Tennessee. I have published a bit more than 70 technical papers and two books on evolutionary biology: Phenotypic Evolution, for Sinauer, with Carl Schlichting, and Phenotypic Plasticity: Beyond Nature vs. Nurture, for Johns Hopkins University Press.As a skeptic, I have been active since 1997 (i.e., since I moved to Tennessee... ) and have published in Free Inquiry (for which I write a regular op-ed column), Skeptic, Skeptical Inquirer (for which I also write a regular column on the scientific method), Philosophy Now, and The Philosopher's Magazine. I have given lectures for many humanist and freethought groups around the country, and have had the dubious honor of debating several theists and creationists, including William Craig, William Dembski, Duane Gish, Ken Hovind, and Jonathan Wells. I have been recently elected as a Consultant for the Committee