• In total there are 3 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 3 guests (based on users active over the past 60 minutes)
    Most users ever online was 616 on Thu Jan 18, 2024 7:47 pm

Jumping into the soup!

The perfect space for valuable discussions that may not neatly fit within the other forums.
Forum rules
Do not promote books in this forum. Instead, promote your books in either Authors: Tell us about your FICTION book! or Authors: Tell us about your NON-FICTION book!.

All other Community Rules apply in this and all other forums.
Graydon Wilson

Jumping into the soup!

Unread post

I stumbled across this website via Craig's List. I've looked in and it seems interesting, so I thought I'd follow the lead of so many others and ramble on a bit about myself.I'm originally from New Orleans but live in Vermont these days, after a twelve-year stint in Houston. I'm a lawyer, but stopped practicing when I moved up here. One of my greatest fears about ever moving again is the string of over-burdened bookcases that line the walls at home.There are presently seven books on the nightstand next to my bed, about average, I suppose. One is a Bible, which I'm reading simply because I'd like to be better able to understand some of the paintings I so much enjoy when I visit art museums. I find this particular Bible unsatisfactory, by the way, because it's a Protestant Bible, when most of the old masters drew upon their Catholic faith. Another is Dante's Inferno, having read two other translations already and mostly enjoy seeing the broad variations in the translations. Perhaps I shall one day obey Longfellow's admonition and learn Italian. A third is Under a Hoo-Doo Moon, an assisted autobiography of Dr. John; a fourth is 1 Dead in Attic, by Chris Rose; a fifth is Atonement, by Ian McEwan; and a sixth is Secrets of the Flesh, a biography of Collette. Rounding out the pile is a how-to photography training manual.On a trip down to New Orleans last week, one of the places I stopp