Online reading group and book discussion forum
  HOME ENTER FORUMS OUR BOOKS LINKS DONATE ADVERTISE CONTACT  
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Mon Oct 14, 2019 1:11 am





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] • Topic evaluate: Evaluations: 0, 0.00 on the average.Evaluations: 0, 0.00 on the average.Evaluations: 0, 0.00 on the average.Evaluations: 0, 0.00 on the average.Evaluations: 0, 0.00 on the average. 
Donna Bowman review of The God Delusion on AVclub.com 
Author Message
User avatar
Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
BookTalk.org Hall of Fame

BookTalk.org Owner
Diamond Contributor 3

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 16150
Location: Florida
Thanks: 3484
Thanked: 1319 times in 1041 posts
Gender: Male
Country: United States (us)

Post Donna Bowman review of The God Delusion on AVclub.com
The God Delusion
by Richard Dawkins
(Houghton Mifflin)

Reviewed by Donna Bowman
December 7th, 2006

Without a doubt, contributing to the public understanding of science is a noble pursuit. Confirming the public suspicion that scientists are arrogant, pedantic know-it-alls who want to root out every vestige of mystery and religious awe from society



Sun Apr 01, 2007 7:45 am
Profile Email WWW
User avatar
Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
BookTalk.org Hall of Fame

BookTalk.org Owner
Diamond Contributor 3

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 16150
Location: Florida
Thanks: 3484
Thanked: 1319 times in 1041 posts
Gender: Male
Country: United States (us)

Post Re: Donna Bowman review of The God Delusion on AVclub.com
Here are the comments of the people that read Donna's review of The God Delusion.

7Comments

Nice
by tefnut

Great review Donna. As an atheist, my initial intention was to argue bitterly against even the slightest bit of hostility towards Dawkins, but your review was well-argued. I have to agree that there's an unfortunate tendency for repetitive preaching-to-the-converted going on in these books.

6:59 PM Thurs January 4, 3907



Atheism, hurray
by Catfight

'Yet he fails to present atheism as an affirmative, joyful choice.'

Concentrating on this may have been a bit redundant, as Dawkins already dedicated an entire book to it -- Unweaving the Rainbow: Science, Delusion and the Appetite for Wonder.

6:59 PM Thurs January 4, 3907



Dawkins
by Mike

The worst thing about this book is that, if you are a rational atheist, and are bought this as a present (already you can tell was my experience), you'll find not only does he argue most of your values back at you, but worse, when he argues them well, you may find yourself parroting him in an argument some day, and sounding like dawkins lite! :(

9:34 AM Thurs January 11, 3907



the problem
by dsto

With his unrelenting zeal and inability for empathy he is just the Pat Robertson or Jerry Falwell for Athieism. Huh, we have our zelous origin-of-the-species too... Oh how I miss Gould.

12:37 AM Tues January 16, 3907



the God delusion
by michael falsia

Donna,
Make no mistake about it atheism lives on a faith-commitment the same as any religion. Whatever can be said about any religion can be said for atheism. Why should atheism pass for a more rational non religious belief when in fact it is nothing of the kind. You might say that Dawkins and his intolerance may now be the intellectual equivelant to academic Nazism. In fact he is probably constructing the death camps as I write.

3:55 PM Wed January 17, 3907



the god delusion
by harper

i agree that dawkins is, in this book, somewhat heavy handed in his pursuit, but i dont see why he should feel the need to 'present atheism as an affirmative, joyful choice.'

it isnt, atheism is neither a positive nor a negative, its just an empty space, one that can be filled with more pressing matters.

4:37 PM Tues January 23, 3907



The God Delusion
by James Gustafson

In my blog review of Dawkins' book I highlight his epistemological weaknesses as the major fault. I have not seen any one else make that case. To claim that rational empricism is the only path to truth is not a self-evident position, nor can it be justified by appealing to rational empiricism.

1:44 PM Mon February 26, 3907




Sun Apr 01, 2007 7:46 am
Profile Email WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] • Topic evaluate: Evaluations: 0, 0.00 on the average.Evaluations: 0, 0.00 on the average.Evaluations: 0, 0.00 on the average.Evaluations: 0, 0.00 on the average.Evaluations: 0, 0.00 on the average. 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

Announcements 

• Promote Your Fiction Book on BookTalk.org
Sun Jul 30, 2017 7:33 pm

• Promote Your Non-Fiction Book on BookTalk.org
Sun Jul 30, 2017 7:18 pm



Site Resources 
HELPFUL INFO:
Forum Rules & Tips
Frequently Asked Questions
BBCode Explained
Author Interview Transcripts
Be a Book Discussion Leader!

IDEAS FOR WHAT TO READ:
Bestsellers
Book Awards
• Book Reviews
• Online Books
• Team Picks
Newspaper Book Sections

WHERE TO BUY BOOKS:
• Great resource pages are coming!

BEHIND THE BOOKS:
• Great resource pages are coming!

PROMOTE YOUR BOOK!
Advertise on BookTalk.org
How To Promote Your Book





BookTalk.org is a thriving book discussion forum, online reading group or book club. We read and talk about both fiction and non-fiction books as a community. Our forums are open to anyone in the world. While discussing books is our passion we also have active forums for talking about poetry, short stories, writing and authors. Our general discussion forum section includes forums for discussing science, religion, philosophy, politics, history, current events, arts, entertainment and more. We hope you join us!


Navigation 
MAIN NAVIGATION

HOMEFORUMSOUR BOOKSAUTHOR INTERVIEWSADVERTISELINKSFAQDONATETERMS OF USEPRIVACY POLICYSITEMAP

OTHER PAGES WORTH EXPLORING
Banned Book ListOnline Reading GroupTop 10 Atheism Books

Copyright © BookTalk.org 2002-2019. All rights reserved.
Display Pagerank