• In total there are 0 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 0 guests (based on users active over the past 60 minutes)
    Most users ever online was 616 on Thu Jan 18, 2024 7:47 pm

ARE SOULS REAL?, by Jerome W. Elbert

Authors are invited and encouraged to showcase their NON-FICTION books exclusively within this forum.
jerryelbert

ARE SOULS REAL?, by Jerome W. Elbert

Unread post

Are Souls Real? Chris O'Connor has suggested that I describe my book here to those who participate in BookTalk. I am the author of Are Souls Real? It is a readable and intellectually stimulating account of the conflicts between ancient soul beliefs and modern science. Published in 2000 and originally priced at $28, new copies of the book can now be purchased for as low as $4! For example, see the "used" books listed under Are Souls Real? at Amazon's site. In October 2000, Are Souls Real? was the Book of the Month on the Secular Web site (infidels.org). I am a physicist with a long interest in topics such as immortal souls, consciousness, and free will. Although I attended parochial schools in grades 1-12, I am very sceptical of religious ideas, particularly when they disagree with science. Those who view the world from the perspectives of faith and biblical inerrancy tend to dislike this book, while free thinkers or sceptics will enjoy it and learn a great deal in the process. The book is divided into three parts. The first is "Religion and the Soul." In it, I give a broad definition of the soul, covering soul beliefs in many cultures. I discuss the likely prehistoric origins of soul beliefs, and the beliefs in the earliest civilizations. I describe how the morality and ethics of the Ten Commandments were taught much earlier among the Egyptians. Also, the ancient Zoroastrian religion of Persia contributed heavily to Jewish and Christian ideas about the soul and other supernatural things. I discuss soul ideas in ancient Greece, and their influences on Christian soul beliefs. Because