Online reading group and book discussion forum
  HOME ENTER FORUMS OUR BOOKS LINKS DONATE ADVERTISE CONTACT  
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Oct 25, 2020 9:18 am





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] • Topic evaluate: Evaluations: 0, 0.00 on the average.Evaluations: 0, 0.00 on the average.Evaluations: 0, 0.00 on the average.Evaluations: 0, 0.00 on the average.Evaluations: 0, 0.00 on the average. 
A recommendation tool that finds books similar to the one you like 
Author Message
Official Newbie!


Joined: Aug 2020
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Gender: None specified

Post A recommendation tool that finds books similar to the one you like
Hi everyone, I made this hassle free Book Recommendation Tool for my college project a while ago, wanted to share it with all.

It has two features:
1) Similar Book Finder - Gives a list of books most similar to the one you enter.
2) Search by Genre Combination - Lets you search books genre-wise by entering any combination of genres from the 104 available genres.

It does not require any installation, registration, or anything of that sort, only this link is needed to access it
Suggest Me a Book

I hope you find it useful.

Acknowledgement: Data used for building this engine was scraped from goodreads.com



Sat Aug 01, 2020 12:40 am
Profile Email
User avatar
Years of membershipYears of membershipYears of membershipYears of membership
Wearing Out Library Card


Joined: Nov 2015
Posts: 249
Location: Tarrytown, NY, USA
Thanks: 28
Thanked: 101 times in 80 posts
Gender: Male
Country: United States (us)

Post Re: A recommendation tool that finds books similar to the one you like
I tried it out with these:

alice's adventures in wonderland
cyberiad
king james bible
misquoting jesus bart d ehrman

It looks like it works well. It's too bad that unmatched book titles don't work for searching, but I can understand the limitation.



Sat Aug 01, 2020 2:17 pm
Profile Email
Official Newbie!


Joined: Aug 2020
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Gender: None specified

Post Re: A recommendation tool that finds books similar to the one you like
I have learnt that in the new age, finding relevant authors to suit our needs is important. We can read the blurb but even after purchasing the book sometimes I can't really find what I have been looking for.l
I love new age psychology and have struggled to find out new ones that are just not theory-based and is updated too. This has helped me :https://mangoclinic.com/top-30-psychology-authors-bringing-a-revolution-in-the-world-of-mental-health/

1. use it for citations
2.quickly browse through topics
3.see if the experience matches with what they write



Fri Aug 07, 2020 12:03 pm
Profile Email
Getting Comfortable


Joined: Mar 2020
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Gender: None specified

Post Re: A recommendation tool that finds books similar to the one you like
Thanks for share
I use
Readgeek printsbery.com/planner-templates/to-do- ... list/daily
Librarything https://www.librarything.com/Which is probably the biggest after Goodreads and has a similar function.
What Should I Read Next? https://www.whatshouldireadnext.com/



Mon Sep 14, 2020 5:34 pm
Profile Email
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] • Topic evaluate: Evaluations: 0, 0.00 on the average.Evaluations: 0, 0.00 on the average.Evaluations: 0, 0.00 on the average.Evaluations: 0, 0.00 on the average.Evaluations: 0, 0.00 on the average. 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:



Site Resources 
HELPFUL INFO:
Community Rules & Tips
Frequently Asked Questions
BBCode Explained
Author Interview Transcripts
Book Discussion Leaders

IDEAS FOR WHAT TO READ:
Bestsellers
Book Awards
Banned Books
• Book Reviews
• Online Books
• Team Picks
Newspaper Book Sections

WHERE TO BUY BOOKS:
• Coming Soon!

BEHIND THE BOOKS:
• Coming Soon!

PROMOTE YOUR BOOK!
Advertise on BookTalk.org
Promote your FICTION book
Promote your NON-FICTION book





BookTalk.org is a thriving book discussion forum, online reading group or book club. We read and talk about both fiction and non-fiction books as a community. Our forums are open to anyone in the world. While discussing books is our passion we also have active forums for talking about poetry, short stories, writing and authors. Our general discussion forum section includes forums for discussing science, religion, philosophy, politics, history, current events, arts, entertainment and more. We hope you join us!


Navigation 
MAIN NAVIGATION

HOMEFORUMSOUR BOOKSAUTHOR INTERVIEWSADVERTISELINKSFAQDONATETERMS OF USEPRIVACY POLICYSITEMAP

OTHER PAGES WORTH EXPLORING
Banned Book ListOnline Reading GroupTop 10 Atheism Books

Copyright © BookTalk.org 2002-2019. All rights reserved.
Display Pagerank