• In total there are 6 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 6 guests (based on users active over the past 60 minutes)
    Most users ever online was 789 on Tue Mar 19, 2024 5:08 am

Don Quixote - The New Translation

#82: April - May 2010 (Fiction)
tomwhite56
Creative Writing Student

Don Quixote - The New Translation

Unread post

By all accounts the new translation of Don Quixote by Edith Goodman is a work of wonder. I never was able to get through my reading of what I now understand to be the fountainhead of all classics, and the first true novel, perhaps because the translation was less than desirable, or perhaps I was just not ready for the book. As a newbie I hardly concsider myself qualified to lead the discussion, but I would be eager to join in.
A likely story.
Saffron

1F - BRONZE CONTRIBUTOR
I can has reading?
United States of America

Re: Don Quixote - The New Translation

Unread post

I am definitely interested in reading along. I am going to see if my library has this edition. Any just gotta toss this in --

The Tale of Genji - the 11th Century Japanese classic written by a Heian court lady known as Murasaki Shikibu. It is generally considered to be the world's first true novel, and was certainly the first psychological novel ever written.
Suzanne

1F - BRONZE CONTRIBUTOR
Book General

Unread post

Fantastic suggestion tomwhite56! I'll also try to get it, would love to read along with you guys.
bleachededen

1F - BRONZE CONTRIBUTOR
Finds books under furniture

Unread post

Oh my various gods, there's an easier to read Don Quixote!?! I must have it!
Don Quixote is one of my favorite stories, and yet I can barely get through the first chapter because of the way it is written. It even has a musical based on it, which is fabulous, and makes me want to read it even more, and all the more frustrated that I hate the writing style.