• In total there are 3 users online :: 1 registered, 0 hidden and 2 guests (based on users active over the past 60 minutes)
    Most users ever online was 871 on Fri Apr 19, 2024 12:00 am

Useful scientific resources to silence fools

Engage in discussions encompassing themes like cosmology, human evolution, genetic engineering, earth science, climate change, artificial intelligence, psychology, and beyond in this forum.
Forum rules
Do not promote books in this forum. Instead, promote your books in either Authors: Tell us about your FICTION book! or Authors: Tell us about your NON-FICTION book!.

All other Community Rules apply in this and all other forums.
ant

1G - SILVER CONTRIBUTOR
BookTalk.org Hall of Fame

Re: Useful scientific resources to silence fools

Unread post

senorcorredor wrote:This isn't an argument I want to get into in depth. I'm not a scientist and I'm not an expert on religion. I'm tempted to ask you to evidence somethingness after someone stops existing but that appears to me to be similar to kids in the playground saying "is too" . . . "is not." I respect your opinion. I'm more interested in theoretical physics and its more bizarre implications. I'm not an expert on that either. Mainly, I want to finish the novel I'm working on. I have 60,000 words written and I am aiming for 80,000.

You were implying something about what comes after death, weren't you? Like nothing.
Was wondering what evidence you had for that positive assertion you camouflaged.
Interbane

1G - SILVER CONTRIBUTOR
United States of America

Unread post

The best we can tell, the mind supervenes on the brain. Which means, when the brain disintegrates so does the mind. There's a great deal of evidence for supervenience. Although I don't think it's possible to prove absolute supervenience.

The evidence makes for a good default hypothesis. Do you have evidence where the nonphysical does not supervene on the physical? I'd like to see it.