• In total there are 3 users online :: 1 registered, 0 hidden and 2 guests (based on users active over the past 60 minutes)
    Most users ever online was 789 on Tue Mar 19, 2024 5:08 am

Excited to be a part of BookTalk

The perfect space for valuable discussions that may not neatly fit within the other forums.
Forum rules
Do not promote books in this forum. Instead, promote your books in either Authors: Tell us about your FICTION book! or Authors: Tell us about your NON-FICTION book!.

All other Community Rules apply in this and all other forums.
Scubalarry54
Official Newbie!

Excited to be a part of BookTalk

Unread post

OK, so I'm a male which you will see in detail in the next paragraph. I write about things I am familiar with and have knowledge of, providing credibility and realism with my pen (or keyboard in most cases).

While I have been an accomplished reference author and have written two screenplays, nothing could have prepared me for the reality of writing my first novel manuscript and the challenges I faced. I have books on leadership and property management, however, I quickly was faced with the reality those writing styles do not bode well in crafting a novel. I also had to realize the screenplay related to the manuscript I was working on was like comparing a watercolor to the Mona Lisa; they both may be art but the details are no where the same. The first wake-up call was with my wife, who was the editor for my first two books. I remember he telling me, "You're not showing a photograph...you're painting a picture." The second and resounding wake-up was with the editor I hired after completing the first draft of the manuscript. There were times my heart sank reading the criticism, only to slap myself into the reality as I invited this in hiring a professional (by the way she is a 12 times best selling author). As time went on, my style changed and she witnessed a transformation as I accepted her critique and come to the realization I knew what to wr