• In total there are 23 users online :: 1 registered, 0 hidden and 22 guests (based on users active over the past 60 minutes)
    Most users ever online was 789 on Tue Mar 19, 2024 5:08 am

General reader

The perfect space for valuable discussions that may not neatly fit within the other forums.
Forum rules
Do not promote books in this forum. Instead, promote your books in either Authors: Tell us about your FICTION book! or Authors: Tell us about your NON-FICTION book!.

All other Community Rules apply in this and all other forums.
Nick2
Eligible to vote in book polls!

General reader

Unread post

Hello all,
I'm a long-term general reader interested in serious and civilized book discussions.
I try to avoid religion, politics and race-related topics but read for general enjoyment, both fiction and non-fiction.
I'm a retired male software engineer and have been on quite a few forums by now; so far, this looks like far and away the best.
Authors I have enjoyed reading include: St. Paul, Donne, Proust, Nabokov, V. Woolf, Faulkner, Joyce, Banville/Black, Salter, Beckett, Marias and Roth.
For lighter fare and escape: LeCarre, Deighton, and all of both McDonalds (Ross and John D).
I am still making up my mind about Pynchon.
Hobbies: chess, crypto, genealogy, reading (about 50 books a year), and writing (poetry and memoir).
This looks like a very extensive site, so I'll probably take some time just browsing about before joining in.
Best wishes to you all,
Have a nice day
NIck
Crystalline
Agrees that Reading is Fundamental

Re: General reader

Unread post

Welcome to BookTalk! You sound like a pretty serious person. What caught my eye is that you are writing your memoir. I just published mine: "Desire and Red Wine, A Life's Journey" by Victoria Norvaisa. It has been an interesting adventure :)! I invite you to check out my website www.VictoriaNorvaisa.com
There is some bio information and my gallery.
Chris OConnor

1A - OWNER
BookTalk.org Hall of Fame