• In total there are 2 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 2 guests (based on users active over the past 60 minutes)
    Most users ever online was 789 on Tue Mar 19, 2024 5:08 am

Brian Greene on the multiverse

Engage in discussions encompassing themes like cosmology, human evolution, genetic engineering, earth science, climate change, artificial intelligence, psychology, and beyond in this forum.
Forum rules
Do not promote books in this forum. Instead, promote your books in either Authors: Tell us about your FICTION book! or Authors: Tell us about your NON-FICTION book!.

All other Community Rules apply in this and all other forums.
Dexter

1F - BRONZE CONTRIBUTOR
I dumpster dive for books!
United States of America

Brian Greene on the multiverse

Unread post

I am skeptical of the multiverse idea. Of course I am a complete amateur, but other scientists are too. As Brian Greene says,
Many... find this explanation unsatisfying, silly, even offensive, asserting that science is meant to give definitive, precise, and quantitative explanations, not “just so” stories.
He does defend the possibility, and even though falsifiability will be difficult, he goes on,
...the multiverse falls squarely in the domain of high-risk science. There are numerous developments that could weaken the motivation for considering it, from scientists finally calculating the correct dark-energy value, or confirming a version of inflationary cosmology that only yields a single universe, or discovering that string theory no longer supports a cornucopia of possible universes. And so on.
http://www.thedailybeast.com/newsweek/2 ... verse.html
LanDroid

2A - MOD & BRONZE
Comandante Literario Supreme
United States of America

Re: Brian Greene on the multiverse

Unread post

If you like that article, you may enjoy his latest book, which I listened to on audio.

http://www.amazon.com/The-Hidden-Realit ... 826&sr=1-1